Conference Expert Panel

Topic :

COVID19 has resulted in profound changes to higher education:

What changes should we keep and what might we do differently to maximise student success in a post-COVID world?

When: Friday, November 20th @ 11:30am – 1pm


Made with Padlet


Panel Chair – Professor Juanita Sherwood

Professor Juanita Sherwood is our panel chair and has been appointed as the new Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Engagement) at Charles Sturt University, a role that has a clear focus on taking an active leadership role in the continuing development and implementation of Indigenous learning, research and engagement across the sector.

With both Wiradjuri and Murri ancestry, Professor Sherwood is a registered nurse, teacher, lecturer, researcher and manager with a depth of working experiences of some 30 years in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and education.  At the University of Sydney since 2015, Juanita is currently Associate Dean Indigenous in the Faculty of Medicine and Health, where she has worked with five faculties and two schools in broadening the Indigenous health curriculum scope, promoting cultural safety as a key strategy for all staff and students, and ensuring the medical program passes its accreditation phase within an improved Indigenous health and research focus.  She is also chief investigator on two recent NHMRC grants. Juanita is also a former Academic Director of the National Centre for Cultural Competence.

Professor Janelle Wheat

Professor Janelle Wheat is the acting Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at Charles Sturt University. Janelle has been influential as an interdisciplinary research academic across the fields of radiation therapy and nuclear medicine for more than 18 years. Her research has significantly impacted nuclear cardiology protocols and procedures in nuclear medicine across the world.

Janelle’s passion for quality education and student success was realised when she was appointed Associate Dean (Academic) at Charles Sturt in 2013. In 2018, Janelle led the education strategy in the Faculty of Science at UNSW as Deputy Dean Education. Her broad experience across diverse science faculties in both regional Australia and in a large metropolitan university provided the foundation for her strategic leadership when she returned to Charles Sturt as PVC Learning & Teaching in 2019.

As PVC Learning & Teaching, Janelle’s leadership of the Division of Learning and Teaching has enabled a renewed focus on quality curriculum design and development including quality online learning within a new L&T Framework.

Currently, Janelle is the Acting Provost and DVC Academic, and is leading Charles Sturt and the Academic Portfolio through major change via the Sustainable Futures Program.

Professor Michael Sankey

Professor Sankey is the Director of Learning Transformations at Griffith University in Brisbane, Australia. He specialises in technology enhanced learning, staff and leadership development, curriculum renewal, online pedagogies, multimodal design, digital, visual and multiliteracies. He has worked in Higher Education for over 30 years and is particularly interested in how constructively aligned and aesthetically enhanced learning environments can better transmit concepts to students, particularly those from diverse backgrounds.

In addition to this role, Michael is the President of the Australasian Council on Open, Distance and e-Learning (ACODE) and is the Director of the ACODE Learning Technologies Leadership Institute. This is a major initiative of ACODE that is run bi-yearly for those aspiring to become leaders in the area of technology enhanced learning.

Professor James Arvanitakis

Professor James Arvanitakis (PhD) the Pro Vice Chancellor (Engagement) at Western Sydney University. He is also a lecturer in the Humanities and a member of Western Sydney University’s Institute for Culture and Society, having recently spent 12 months at the University of Wyoming as the Milward L Simpson Fulbright Fellow.

In 2015, James founded The Academy at Western Sydney University – an Honours College – that received an Australian Financial Review Higher Education Excellence Award (2016). In 2016, he established Western’s Graduate Research School and was the Pro Vice Chancellor (Research and Graduate Studies) 2018-20.

James is internationally recognised for his innovative teaching, receiving the Prime Minister’s University Teacher of the Year Award (2012) and named an Eminent Researcher by the Australia India Education Council (2015).

James is an Honorary Fellow at the Australian India Institute since 2016. He has over 100 publications and his latest book is Teaching and Learning in Higher Education in India and Australia (2019). He is a regular media commentator often seen on the Drum and News24.

Professor Helen Huntly OAM

Professor Huntly has been with CQUniversity for more than 30 years. She took up her appointment as Provost in late 2016, following her appointment as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Industry, Vocational Training & Access Education) in 2015. Professor Huntly assumed the role of Vice-President (Academic) as a result of a restructure in 2020.

Professor Huntly has contributed to the broader education agenda through many roles, including as Dean in the School of Education & the Arts, various senior management roles within the Higher Education Division, and prior to that, as teacher in the vocational and secondary education sectors. As a proud (former) teacher, Professor Huntly recognises the importance of high quality, engaging and reflective learning and teaching practices at all levels of education.

Throughout her career, Professor Huntly has developed a deep understanding and knowledge of education and training.  She is a strong advocate for the provision of learning opportunities for all, particularly in the regions, to help students reach their full potential and contribute to their local communities. In 2017, Professor Huntly was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for her services to tertiary education in Central Queensland.  Her qualifications include a Doctor of Education (CQUniversity 2004), Master of Education Studies (CQUniversity 1999), Bachelor of Education (BCAE1980), and a Diploma of Teaching Health & Physical Education (KGCAE 1980).